Oklahoma Sooners
Mayfield makes Maxwell watch list
Oklahoma Sooners

Mayfield makes Maxwell watch list

Published Oct. 15, 2015 3:49 p.m. ET

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield has just been added to the Maxwell Award watch list.

Oklahoma running back Samaje Perine and receiver Sterling Shepard were both named to the list in July.

The Maxwell Award goes to the college football player of the year. OU's Jason White won it in 2004 and receiver Tommy McDonald won it in 1956.

Mayfield has been an upgrade at quarterback this season leading the Sooners to a 4-1 start. He has 14 touchdown passes and just three interceptions, completing 66 percent of his passes.


The three finalists for the award will be named Nov. 24 and the winner will be named on Dec. 10.


Get more from Oklahoma Sooners Follow your favorites to get information about games, news and more

in this topic