Alaska Aces win second ECHL Kelly Cup title

BY foxsports • May 22, 2011

Chris Langkow scored twice to help the Alaska Aces win their second ECHL Kelly Cup title with a 5-3 victory over the Kalamazoo Wings on Saturday night in Game 5 of the best-of-seven series.

Steve Ward, Curtis Fraser and Chad Anderson also scored for Alaska and Gerald Coleman made 27 saves to finish the Kelly Cup playoffs 11-1. Alaska, also the 2006 champion, went 12-1 during the postseason, setting an ECHL record for fewest losses in a single playoff season.

Alaska's Scott Howes was selected the most valuable player of the playoffs. He had seven goals and 12 assists in 12 games. He had points in first 11 games.

Brian McGuirk, A.J. Thelen and Trent Daavettila scored for Kalamazoo.