How 2011 Daytona 500 qualifying works

BY foxsports • February 13, 2011

The Daytona 500 is a NASCAR race unlike any other, and so is the qualifying procedure.

Drivers have two chances to qualify for the season-opening race, as opposed to the one qualifying session format used at other races.

Here’s the breakdown:

    Drivers already locked into the race (listed in alphabetical order): AJ Allmendinger, Marcos Ambrose, Trevor Bayne, Greg Biffle, Clint Bowyer, Jeff Burton, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Carl Edwards, David Gilliland, Jeff Gordon, Robby Gordon, Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Kasey Kahne, Matt Kenseth, Brad Keselowski, Bobby Labonte, Andy Lally, Joey Logano, Mark Martin, Jamie McMurray, Paul Menard, Juan Pablo Montoya, Ryan Newman, David Ragan, David Reutimann, Robert Richardson, Regan Smith, Tony Stewart, Martin Truex Jr., Brian Vickers, Steve Wallace


      Drivers fighting for a spot in the field (in alphabetical order): Norm Benning, Dave Blaney, Todd Bodine, Kevin Conway, Derrike Cope, Bill Elliott, Brian Keselowski, Travis Kvapil, Terry Labonte, Michael McDowell, Casey Mears, Joe Nemechek, Michael Waltrip, J.J. Yeley.

      Drivers eligible for the past champions provisional (in order of eligibility): Terry Labonte, Bill Elliott.

      in this topic

      share story