Gibbs enters elite Cup owner realm

BY foxsports • September 23, 2012

Joe Gibbs Racing celebrated its 100th career NASCAR Sprint Cup win Sunday as Denny Hamlin topped the field at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

The organization earned its first trip to Victory Lane in 1993 with a win at the Daytona 500 with driver Dale Jarrett.

Since that time, it’s won three championships and has now hit the stellar win mark.

“This is a big deal for us,” said Joe Gibbs, owner of Joe Gibbs Racing. “I’ve always said you build a winning organization with people and this accomplishment is a tribute to all those that have worked so hard and made so many sacrifices for our organization over the years. I want to thank all of them. From all of our employees that have contributed to each of these wins, to our partners who make all of this possible, it is a tremendous moment for Joe Gibbs Racing.”

The 100 victories are spread over just three car numbers – though more drivers. The No. 18, now driven by Kyle Busch, was the organization’s first car number and has 43 victories. The No. 20, now driven by Joey Logano, accounted for 35 of the wins and the No. 11, now driven by Denny Hamlin, has won 22 times.

Tony Stewart has the most wins for JGR with 33, followed by Hamlin’s 22 victories. Bobby Labonte claimed 21 wins for the organization, while Kyle Busch has 20 victories and Jarrett and Joey Logano each contributed two victories.

“When you think of our early days getting started in racing we sure weren’t thinking about ever getting to 100 wins,” team president J.D. Gibbs said. “It’s been a tremendous ride marked by great people and great memories. We are blessed to have been able to experience such success.”

in this topic