FSU Football: Ranking Unanimous All-Americans in Program History

BY Fansided and Jason Parker/FanSided via Chop Chat • December 17, 2016

Dalvin Cook became FSU football’s 14th player to be named a unanimous All-American – now we rank those players to decide who was the best of the best.

Though FSU football running back Dalvin Cook may not have won the honors he deserved this season – the Doak Walker Award, being a Heisman finalist – he will join some special company now that he has been named a unanimous All-American.

The honor makes him just the 14th player in the history of Florida State football to receive such an honor. For a program in just its 70th year of playing the sport, having one every five seasons on average is not a bad number – even if all 14 have come in the last 30 seasons.

The list for the Seminoles is a who’s who of not just college football, but also the NFL with current stars, Hall of Famers and Super Bowl champs. Here’s our breakdown of how the 14 honorees rank in the history of FSU football.

Nov 30, 2013; Gainesville, FL, USA; Florida State Seminoles defensive back Lamarcus Joyner (20) rushes during the first quarter against the Florida Gators at Ben Hill Griffin Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

No. 14 – OG Tre’ Jackson (2014) – Two straight seasons of All-ACC selections and a 27-1 record put this Georgia native in rare company

No. 13 – DE Bjorn Werner (2012) – A 13 sack campaign in his final season with the ‘Noles was more than enough to get him the honor.

No. 12 – OL Rodney Hudson (2010) – Mr. Durability was someone who could be counted on to do whatever on the line during his time with the ‘Noles.

No. 11 – S / CB Lamarcus Joyner (2013) – The South Florida star played both positions as one of the best ever – including his love of coming in for the sack.

No. 10 – K Sebastian Janikowski (1999) – The ‘Polish Powderkeg’ was the answer to many years of kicking woes for the ‘Noles, helping to win a second national title.

Dec 31, 2015; Atlanta, GA, USA; Detailed view of Florida State Seminoles helmet on the sidelines before a game against the Houston Cougars in the 2015 Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl at the Georgia Dome. Mandatory Credit: Brett Davis-USA TODAY Sports

No. 9 – DE Jamal Reynolds (2000) – A 12 sack season as a senior got him the Lombardi Award and a spot as one of the most honored ‘Noles there has been.

No. 8 – WR Peter Warrick (1999) – A national title as a senior highlighted a career as one of the most elusive players at his position in football history.

No. 7 – OT Alex Barron (2004) – Maybe the best ever to play the position for the Seminoles…and the ACC…maybe even the entire country?

No. 6 – CB Terrell Buckley (1991) – The school’s leader in all time interceptions also brought home the second Jim Thorpe Award to the Seminoles.

No. 5 – LB Marvin Jones (1992) – The Lombardi and Butkus Awards were enough for this Miami native, who is still one of the most feared players ever.

Nov 16, 2013; Tallahassee, FL, USA; Former Florida State Seminoles head coach Bobby Bowden chats with former Seminoles player Derrick Brooks before the game against the Syracuse Orange at Doak Campbell Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Melina Vastola-USA TODAY Sports

No. 4 – LB Derrick Brooks (1993) – Twice a Lombardi Award finalist as well as being the ACC Defensive Player of the Year, Brooks is just as much a great man as he was a great player.

No. 3 – RB Dalvin Cook (2016) – Selfishly, coming back for his senior season would likely make him the leading rusher in NCAA history and the greatest ‘Nole to play.

No. 2 – QB Charlie Ward (1993) – The first quarterback to win a national title, Ward won pretty much every award he could as a senior and will forever hold a place in the hearts of all FSU fans.

Dec 3, 2015; Detroit, MI, USA; Deion Sanders on set for the Thursday Night Football before the game between the Detroit Lions and the Green Bay Packers at Ford Field. Mandatory Credit: Tim Fuller-USA TODAY Sports

No. 1 – CB Deion Sanders (1987 and 1988) – It’s not just because he brought home the honor twice, but also because he is, without a doubt, the greatest athlete to play for the Seminoles. A Thorpe Award his senior season added to the prestige of ‘Prime Time’.

More from Chop Chat

    This article originally appeared on

    share story