Powell escapes touchline ban

BY foxsports • August 15, 2012

Referee Gavin Ward sent Powell from the dugout during the second half of the first round tie at The Valley on Tuesday night when he threw a water bottle to the ground in anger, following what he felt were a succession of decisions against the Addicks.

Powell watched the remainder of the match, which Orient won 4-3 on penalties following a 1-1 draw after 120 minutes, from the directors' box and it was feared he could face an extended spell away from the sidelines.

However, after receiving the referee's report, the Football Association has confirmed it will not impose further disciplinary sanctions on Powell and he will be able to take charge of the side in their npower Championship opener at Birmingham on Saturday.


share story