Three Seminoles named AP first-team All-Americans

BY foxsports • December 16, 2014

Florida State had three players selected to the Associated Press All-American first team on Tuesday afternoon: tight end Nick O'Leary, guard Tre Jackson and kicker Roberto Aguayo.

O'Leary caught 47 passes for 614 yards and six touchdowns and won the Mackey Award last week. The senior has more catches, receiving yards and TDs than any FSU tight end.

Aguayo is an All-American for the second straight season after making 25 of 27 field-goal attempts. He was also a finalist for the Lou Groza Award.

Jackson was an Outland Trophy semifinalist and has been FSU's most consistent blocker.

Florida sophomore corner Vernon Hargreaves III and UCF sophomore corner Jacoby Glenn were both named to the second team, along with a pair of Seminoles: receiver Rashad Greene and corner Jalen Ramsey.

Miami linebacker Denzel Perryman and tight end Clive Walford were both named to the AP's third team. Perryman and Walford are the first AP All-Americans since defensive back Kenny Phillips made the third team in 2007.

FSU defensive tackle Eddie Goldman was also named to the third team.

Heisman winner Marcus Mariota is the first Oregon quarterback to be an All-American.



Quarterback -- Marcus Mariota, junior, 6-foot-4, 219 pounds, Oregon

Running backs -- Melvin Gordon, junior, 6-1, 213, Wisconsin; Tevin Coleman, junior, 6-1, 210, Indiana.

Tackles -- Brandon Scherff, senior, 6-5, 320, Iowa; Spencer Drango, junior, 6-6, 310, Baylor.

Guards -- Tre Jackson, senior, 6-4, 330, Florida State; Laken Tomlinson, senior, 6-3, 320, Duke.

Center -- Reese Dismukes, senior, 6-3, 296, Auburn.

Tight End -- Nick O'Leary, senior, 6-3, 247, Florida State.

Wide receivers -- Amari Cooper, junior, 6-1, 210, Alabama; Rashard Higgins, sophomore, 6-2, 188, Colorado State.

Kicker -- Roberto Aguayo, sophomore, 6-1, 203, Florida State.

All-purpose player -- Shaq Thompson, junior, 6-1, 228, Washington.


Ends -- Joey Bosa, sophomore, 6-5, 278, Ohio State; Vic Beasley, senior, 6-3, 235, Clemson.

Tackles -- Malcolm Brown, junior, 6-2, 320, Texas; Danny Shelton, junior, 6-2, 339, Washington.

Linebackers -- Scooby Wright III, sophomore, 6-1, 246, Arizona; Hau'oli Kikaha, senior, 6-3, 246, Washington; Paul Dawson, senior, 6-2, 230, TCU.

Cornerbacks -- Senquez Golson, senior, 5-9, 176, Mississippi; Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, senior, 5-10, 195, Oregon.

Safeties -- Landon Collins, junior, 6-0, 222, Alabama; Gerod Holliman, sophomore, 6-2, 213, Louisville.

Punter -- Tom Hackett, junior, 5-11, 187, Utah.



Quarterback -- Trevone Boykin, junior, TCU

Running backs -- James Conner, sophomore, Pittsburgh; Ameer Abdullah, senior, Nebraska.

Tackles -- La'el Collins, senior, LSU; Andrus Peat, junior, Stanford.

Guards -- Arie Kouandjio, senior, Alabama; A.J. Cann, senior, South Carolina.

Center -- Hroniss Grassu, senior, Oregon.

Tight End -- Maxx Williams, sophomore, Minnesota.

Wide receivers -- Kevin White, senior, West Virginia; Rashad Greene, senior, Florida State.

Kicker -- Brad Craddock, junior, Maryland.

All-purpose player -- Tyler Lockett, senior, Kansas State.


Ends -- Shane Ray, junior, Missouri; Nate Orchard, senior, Utah.

Tackles -- Leonard Williams, junior, Southern California; Robert Nkemdiche, sophomore, Mississippi.

Linebackers -- Eric Kendricks, senior, UCLA; Benardrick McKinney, junior, Mississippi State; Jaylon Smith, sophomore, Notre Dame.

Cornerbacks -- Vernon Hargreaves III, sophomore, Florida; Jacoby Glenn, sophomore, Central Florida.

Safeties -- Jalen Ramsey, sophomore, Florida State; Cody Prewitt, senior, Mississippi.

Punter -- JK Scott, freshman, Alabama.



Quarterback -- J.T. Barrett, redshirt freshman, Ohio State.

Running backs -- Jay Ajayi, junior, Boise State; Samaje Perine, freshman, Oklahoma.

Tackles -- Cedric Ogbuehi, senior, Texas A&M; Jake Fisher, senior, Oregon.

Guards -- Shaquille Mason, senior, Georgia Tech; Ben Beckwith, senior, Mississippi State.

Center -- Jack Allen, junior, Michigan State.

Tight End -- Clive Walford, senior, Miami.

Wide receivers -- Justin Hardy, senior, East Carolina; Nelson Agholor, junior, Southern California.

Kicker -- Josh Lambert, sophomore, West Virginia.

All-purpose player -- J.J. Nelson, senior, UAB.


Ends -- Shawn Oakman, junior, Baylor; Randy Gregory, junior, Nebraska.

Tackles -- Michael Bennett, senior, Ohio State; Eddie Goldman, junior, Florida State.

Linebackers -- Denzel Perryman, senior, Miami; Mike Hull, senior, Penn State; Eric Striker, junior, Oklahoma.

Cornerbacks -- Trae Waynes, junior, Michigan State; Kendall Fuller, sophomore, Virginia Tech.

Safeties -- Kurtis Drummond, senior, Michigan State; Su'a Cravens, sophomore, Southern California.

Punter -- Austin Rehkow, sophomore, Idaho.