Everything you need to know about Irwin Tools Night Race at BMS

BY foxsports • August 22, 2015

Saturday night the stars of the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series will hit the high-banked, half-mile short trackat Bristol Motor Speedway for one of the most exciting and most anticipated races of the year, the Irwin Tools Night Race.

The night race at Bristol always seems to bring out tempers, hard racing and a few beat-up fenders, and Saturday night should be no different.

The racing groove has migrated to the top lane of the track, with track position being at a premium. Much like the Bristol of old, drivers will have to move out of the groove to make a pass or use their bumper to get by their competition.

As has been the case for much of the 2015 season, Joe Gibbs Racing has shown speed throughout the weekend's practice and qualifying sessions, with Denny Hamlin, Kyle Busch and Carl Edwards sweeping the first three starting spots.

The Sprint Cup garage got a clearer picture of the on-going saga at Michael Waltrip Racing this week, as Rob Kauffman indicated the team would essentially cease operation after this season, with he and Clint Bowyer agreeing to part ways.

Despite the news, both Bowyer and fellow MWR driver David Ragan have been fast this weekend, with Ragan's No. 55 Toyota rolling off the grid fourth.

This also marks the final time Jeff Gordon will race around Bristol Motor Speedway. The five-time Bristol winner is running a throwback paint scheme featuring his iconic rainbow colors, much to the delight of the fans. Sitting 15th in the Chase standings, Gordon says he does not necessarily need a win, but definitely wants one.  

With all of that being said, here is everything you need to know about the Irwin Tools Night Race at Bristol:


4:30 p.m. ET -- NASCAR RaceDay on FOX Sports 2

12 a.m. ET -- NASCAR Victory Lane on FOX Sports 1


According to weather.com, Saturday night's forecast is calling for a high of 65 degrees with partly cloudy skies early, which will give way to cloudy skies late. A stray shower or thunderstorm is possible, with a 20 percent chance of rain.

National anthem:

Motor Racing Outreach children

Pledge of allegiance:

Staff Sgt. Robert Potter, USMC

Presentation of colors:

USMC Honor Guard


Dr. Raleigh Washington, president and CEO of Promise Keepers


Four F-18's Marine Fighter Attack Squadron 122 from Beaufort, South Carolina

Honorary starter:

Dave Ramsey

Green flag:

7:45 p.m. ET

Defending race winner:

Joey Logano. Full race recap here. 

April 2015 race winner:

Matt Kenseth. Full race recap here. 

Fastest in Practice 1:

Kyle Larson. Full practice recap here. 

Fastest in Final Practice:

Kyle Busch. Full practice recap here. 

Front row:

Denny Hamlin and Kyle Busch. Full qualifying recap here.

Starting lineup:


share story