WNBA says officials missed late call in Game 5 of Finals

BY foxsports • October 21, 2016

NEW YORK (AP) The WNBA says its officials missed a shot-clock violation late in Game 5 of the Finals on Thursday night.

The league released a statement Friday saying Nneka Ogwumike's basket for Los Angeles with 1:14 remaining shouldn't have counted because it came after the shot clock expired. The statement also says officials improperly failed to review the play.

Ogwumike later made the game-winning shot at the buzzer, giving the Sparks a 77-76 win for their first championship since 2002.

After the game, Minnesota coach Cheryl Reeve said the league needed to do more than just apologize and ''send a memo.''

It's the second time in a week officials missed a call. The WNBA acknowledged the referees missed an 8-second backcourt violation late in Game 4, which Minnesota won.


share story