Wolfsburg star De Bruyne named Germany's footballer of the year

BY foxsports • July 26, 2015


Kevin de Bruyne has been named Germany's footballer of the year in an annual poll of sports journalists while Dieter Hecking, also at Wolfsburg, picked up best coach.

Kicker magazine said Sunday that Belgium winger de Bruyne easily won this year's award, picking up 367 of the 814 votes. Bayern Munich and Netherlands winger Arjen Robben was second with 94 votes, while last year's winner - Bayern and Germany goalkeeper Manuel Neuer - received 67 votes to finish third.

De Bruyne was a key figure in Wolfsburg's run to second place in the Bundesliga behind Bayern last season and to the German Cup title.

Hecking with 203 votes narrowly beat Markus Weinzierl, who led Augsburg to a Europa League place, with 191 votes. Borussia Moenchengladbach's Lucien Favre was third with 168.

share story