Patrick Mullins, Crystal Dunn win Hermann Trophy

Patrick Mullins, Crystal Dunn win Hermann Trophy

Published Jan. 12, 2013 6:35 p.m. ET

Maryland forward Patrick Mullins and North Carolina midfielder Crystal Dunn have won the Hermann Trophy as the top college soccer players in the United States.

The pair, both juniors, won in voting announced Friday night by the Missouri Athletic Club.

Notre Dame forward Ryan Finley was second in the men's voting, and Creighton midfielder Jose Gomez was third. Penn State midfielder Christine Nairn was the women's runner-up, followed by Virginia midfielder Caroline Miller.

Mullins scored 17 goals and had 10 assists for the Terrapins, who lost to Georgetown on penalty kicks in the semifinals of the NCAA soccer tournament. He became the second Maryland player to win the award following Jason Garey in 2005.


Dunn, a member of the winning U.S. team and last year's FIFA Under-20 World Cup, began the season as a central defender before the move to midfield. She helped North Carolina win its 21st national championship, assisting on goals in both the semifinal and final.

She joined Cat Reddick (2003), Cindy Parlow (1997, 98), Tisha Venturini (1994), Mia Hamm (1992, 93) and Kristine Lilly (1991) as North Carolina players to win the award.

Ballots are cast by NCAA Division I soccer coaches whose programs are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America. The winner of online fan balloting earned the equivalent of one vote.