Three Hurricanes named All-ACC first team, 13 in total honored

BY foxsports • December 10, 2014

Thirteen University of Miami football players earned All-Atlantic Coast Conference honors, as voted on by the coaches and announced Wednesday morning.

Junior running back Duke Johnson, senior linebacker Denzel Perryman and senior center Shane McDermott each made the first team.

Johnson ranked second in the ACC with 1,520 rushing yards, and he became the program's all-time leading rusher in the finale. He also came in seventh in the ACC's Player of the Year Voting. Perryman led the team with 102 tackles and 8.5 tackles for loss, finishing as the runner-up for the Butkus Award, given to the nation's top linebacker. McDermott started every game in 2014 and helped the offense average 431 yards per game.

Senior wideout Phillip Dorsett, junior offensive lineman Ereck Flowers and senior tight end Clive Walford received second-team honors.

Dorsett led the Hurricanes with nine receiving touchdowns and posted a league-best 26.6 yards-per-catch. Walford, who finished as the runner-up for the John Mackey Award given to the nation's top tight end, paced all Power 5 Conference players at his position with 44 catches and 676 yards before sustaining a knee injury in the finale. He also scored seven touchdowns and set all-time marks at UM for most career receptions, yards and scores for a tight end. Flowers worked left tackle, protecting freshman quarterback Brad Kaaya's the blind side in 10 starts.

Senior defensive lineman Anthony Chickillo and sophomore punter Justin Vogel made the All-ACC Third Team. Chickillo recorded 38 tackles and 3.5 tackles for loss. Vogel, who entered 2014 as a walk-on from Florida, averaged 43.7 yards per punt with 21 inside in the 20-yard line.

Four players -- senior offensive lineman Jon Feliciano, junior safety Deon Bush, senior defensive lineman Olsen Pierre and sophomore defensive back Artie Burns -- were named honorable mentions.

Kaaya received both Overall and Offensive Rookie of the Year for his performance in 2014. He led the league in passing efficiency (148.2) and touchdown passes (25). He also ranks second in the ACC behind reigning Heisman Trophy winner Jameis Winston in passing yards (2,962).

You can follow Christina De Nicola on Twitter @CDeNicola13 or email her at

share story