Smith returns for Dancing With the Stars

Smith returns for Dancing With the Stars

Published Jul. 27, 2012 2:41 p.m. ET

Emmitt Smith was a three-time Super Bowl Champion with the Dallas Cowboys during his professional football career.

And now, Smith will look to become a two-time champion in ballroom dancing.

Smith was announced on Monday as a participant in the upcoming season of "Dancing with the Stars."

The new season will feature an all-star cast of returning contestants.  Smith took home the championship when he first competed on the show in 2006, besting actors Mario Lopez and Joey Lawrence in the finals.

Smith is not the only returning contestant with sports ties. Race car driver Helio Castroneves, the winner of season 4, speed skater Apolo Anton Ohno, the winner of season 5, and gymnast Shawn Johnson, the champion of seasn 8, will also join the cast.

Smith was the first in a line of former NFL players who have dominated the competition.  Recently, Pittsburgh Steelers wide receiver took home the championship in season 12 and the current reigning champion of the competition is Green Bay Packers wide receiver Donald Driver.  NFL Hall of Famer Jerry Rice finished second in season two.

The entire returning cast for the show are Kirstie Alley, Pamela Anderson, Helio Castroneves, Joey Fatone, Shawn
Johnson, Drew Lachey, Gilles Marini, Kelly Monaco, Apolo Anton Ohno,
Bristol Palin, Melissa Rycroft, and Emmitt Smith.

A viewer vote will determine the final contest on the show between Sabrina Bryan, Carson
Kressley and Kyle Massey.

"Dancing with the Stars: All Stars" premiers on Monday, September 24.