Panthers' Jaromir Jagr wins Bill Masterton Trophy for sportsmanship

BY foxsports • June 22, 2016

LAS VEGAS -- The National Hockey League announced Wednesday that Florida Panthers forward Jaromir Jagr has been selected as the 2016 recipient of the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, awarded "to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey" as selected by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association. Jagr becomes the first player in franchise history to receive this honor.

Jagr received the honor on Wednesday at the 2016 NHL Awards, hosted at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas. Other finalists for the award were Pittsburgh Penguins forward Pascal Dupuis and New York Rangers forward Mats Zuccarello.

"I am honored to receive the Masterton Trophy," Jagr said. "Many great players in the NHL with dedication to the game of hockey have earned this award and it is a privilege to be considered one of them. Hockey is my passion and it's why I am motivated every day to play it at the highest level that I can. I would like to thank my teammates, coaches, the entire Panthers organization, the PHWA and the NHL for this honor."

Jagr recorded a team-leading 66 points (27-39-66) in 79 games this season with the Panthers. During the season, the 44-year old reached third all-time in points (1,868) and goals (749), eighth in games played (1,629) and became only the sixth player all-time to record 1,100 assists. The oldest player in NHL history to surpass 60 points in a season, Jagr was also voted as the Atlantic Division All-Star Team Captain and appeared in his 10th career All-Star Game.

The award is Jagr's 10th individual NHL award. He previously has won the Art Ross Trophy five times, the Lester B. Pearson Award (now Ted Lindsay Award) three times and the Hart Memorial Trophy once.

The native of Kladno, Czech Republic re-signed with Florida to a one-year contract on May 5, 2016.

in this topic

share story