New Zealand bats first against India in World Twenty20

Updated Mar. 4, 2020 11:22 p.m. ET

NAGPUR, India (AP) New Zealand captain Kane Williamson won the toss Tuesday and elected to bat first against India in their Group 2 game at the World Twenty20.

New Zealand went in with spinners Nathan McCullum, Ish Sodhi and Mitchell Santner on a pitch expected to help slow bowlers.

India played the same team that won the final at the recent Asia Cup against Bangladesh.

India, led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, is considered the favorite going into the tournament with 10 wins in 11 games.



India: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra.


New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson (captain), Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, Corey Anderson, Grant Elliott, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Nathan McCullum, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi.