Mercury release 2011 schedule

BY foxsports • December 22, 2010

The Phoenix Mercury on Wednesday announced the team's schedule for the upcoming 2011 season.

Phoenix tips off its 15th season on the road against the defending champion Seattle Storm on Saturday, June 4 at noon. The game will be televised live on ABC. The Mercury then take on the Sparks in Los Angeles on Friday, June 10 before returning home for their home opener at US Airways Center on Friday, June 17 against the San Antonio Silver Stars.

The Mercury's 34-game schedule runs from June 4 through Sept. 11 and features nine weekend games and five nationally televised games. The team's national television slate includes the season opener on ABC, as well as ESPN2 broadcasts of home games against San Antonio and New York on June 21 and Aug. 24, respectively, as well as June 21 at San Antonio and Aug. 2 at Minnesota.
 
Phoenix plays six of its first eight games on the road, with six straight games against 2010 playoff teams to open the season, including both 2010 WNBA Finals clubs (June 24 at Atlanta). The schedule features two four-game road trips (June 21-28 and Aug. 26-Sept. 1) and three back-to-back sets (June 24-25, Aug. 11-12 and Sept. 8-9). The club will host its annual matinee on July 20 at 12:30 p.m. vs. Minnesota and will play two additional day games on July 13 at Minnesota and July 28 at San Antonio.

MERCURY 2011 SCHEDULE

(Home games in all caps)
Sat., June 4 @ Seattle 12 p.m. (ABC)
Fri., June 10 @ Los Angeles 7:30 p.m.
Fri., June 17 SAN ANTONIO 7 p.m.
Sun., June 19 INDIANA 3 p.m.
Tue., June 21 @ San Antonio 5 p.m. (ESPN2)
Fri., June 24 @ Atlanta 4:30 p.m.
Sat., June 25 @ Chicago 5 p.m.
Tue., June 28 @ Indiana 4 p.m.
Fri., July 1 CHICAGO 4:30 p.m.
Tue., July 5 LOS ANGELES 6 p.m. (ESPN2)
Fri., July 8 @ Tulsa 3 p.m.
Sun., July 10 TULSA 3 p.m.
Wed., July 13 @ Minnesota 10 a.m.
Fri., July 15 WASHINGTON 7 p.m.
Wed., July 20 MINNESOTA 12:30 p.m.
Tue., July 26 SEATTLE 7 p.m.
Thu., July 28 @ San Antonio 9:30 a.m.
Sat., July 30 @ New York 4 p.m.
Tue., Aug. 2 @ Minnesota 5 p.m. (ESPN2)
Sun., Aug. 7 CONNECTICUT 3 p.m.
Tue., Aug. 9 MINNESOTA 7 p.m.
Thu., Aug. 11 ATLANTA 7 p.m.
Fri., Aug. 12 @ Los Angeles 7:30 p.m.
Tue., Aug. 16 SEATTLE 7 p.m.
Sat., Aug. 20 SAN ANTONIO 7 p.m.
Tue., Aug. 23 NEW YORK 7 p.m. (ESPN2)
Fri., Aug. 26 @ Connecticut 4:30 p.m.
Sun., Aug. 28 @ Washington 1 p.m.
Tue., Aug. 30 @ Tulsa 5 p.m.
Thu., Sept. 1 @ San Antonio 5 p.m.
Sat., Sept. 3 LOS ANGELES 7 p.m.
Thu., Sept. 8 TULSA 7 p.m.
Fri., Sept. 9 @ SEATTLE 7 p.m.
Sun., Sept. 11 MINNESOTA 3 p.m.


share story