Hunter, Gordon named to Twins Hall of Fame

BY foxsports • January 29, 2016

Recently retired outfielder Torii Hunter and radio broadcaster John Gordon have been named as the 2016 inductees to the Minnesota Twins Hall of Fame.

Hunter played with the Twins for 12 of his 19 seasons and retired this past year after his second go-around with Minnesota. Hunter earned nine Gold Glove awards and five All-Star Game selections during his career and led the Twins to four playoff appearances, including the 2002 American League Championship Series. He hit .268 with in his 12 years with Minnesota with 214 home runs and 128 stolen bases, both of which are fifth-most in Twins history.

The Twins drafted the Pine Bluff, Arkansas, native 20th overall in the 1993 draft, and Hunter made his Major League Baseball debut in 1997.

Gordon retired in 2011 after 25 seasons as the Twins radio play-by-play announcer. He was voted the 1998 broadcast personality of the year by the Minnesota Broadcasters Association, and the Twins radio booth was named in his honor.

The Detroit native began his broadcasting career with the Spartanburg Phillies in 1965 after graduating from Indiana University. He also worked for the Baltimore Orioles, the University of Virginia, the Columbus Clippers and the New York Yankees prior to Minnesota.

"It's fitting that Torii and John will be inducted on the same weekend considering they are two of the biggest personalities and greatest ambassadors the Twins organization has ever known," Twins president Dave St. Peter said in a statement.

The Twins will induct Hunter and Gordon into the Hall of Fame during separate on-field pre-game ceremonies scheduled for Hall of Fame Weekend July 16-17 when the team hosts the Cleveland Indians.

Hunter and Gordon will become the 27th and 28th Hall of Fame members and the first inducted since pitcher Eddie Guardado and former PR director Tom Mee in 2013.

The Twins created their Hall of Fame as part of the team's 40th season celebration in 2000 to honor former players, managers, coaches and off-field personnel. Player personnel are elected by a committee of media members, club officials, fans and past elected members. Non-players are elected by a separate committee.