Former Badger Krumrie elected to College Football Hall of Fame

BY foxsports • January 8, 2016

Over 30 years after playing his last collegiate game for the Wisconsin Badgers, Tim Krumrie has been named to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Krumrie, who played at Wisconsin from 1979-82, is the 10th former Badgers player to be enshrined, but the first defensive player. In all, 14 players or coaches with Badgers ties have been elected to the Hall of Fame.

A linebacker who was switched to nose guard, Krumrie led the Badgers in tackles in each of his four seasons. He still ranks No. 3 in UW history with 444 career stops, the most ever by a defensive lineman while his 276 solo tackles remain the most in Badgers history.

Krumrie, who never missed a start in 46 career games, was a consensus first-team All-America selection in 1981, a Walter Camp All-American in 1982 and went on to earn All-Big Ten honors three times. Krumrie, who also was a two-year member of the Wisconsin wrestling team, was enshrined in the UW Athletic Hall of Fame in 1999.

Krumrie was drafted by Cincinnati in the 10th round in 1983 and went on to play 12 seasons for the Bengals. He also coached in the NFL for 15 years with Cincinnati, Buffalo and Kansas City.

The other Badgers in the College Football Hall of Fame are Barry Alvarez, Coach, Class of 2010; Alan Ameche, RB, Class of 1975; Marty Below, OL, Class of 1988; Robert Butler, OL, Class of 1972; Ron Dayne, RB, Class of 2013; Pat Harder, FB, Class of 1993; Elroy "Crazylegs" Hirsch, RB, Class of 1974; Phil King, Coach, Class of 1962; George Little, Coach, Class of 1955; Pat O'Dea, P, Class of 1962; Pat Richter, WR, Class of 1996; Dave Schreiner, End, Class of 1955 amd Harry Stuhldreher, Coach, Class of 1958.

in this topic

share story