Austin Dillon Wins Inaugural MudSummer Classic

BY foxsports • July 24, 2013

Trucks on dirt proved to be a huge success at historic Eldora Speedway, where on Wednesday night Austin Dillon scored a dominating victory in the inaugural CarCash Mudsummer Classic NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race.

The 150-lap event at the Tony Stewart-owned Rossburg, Ohio half-mile track was the first NASCAR touring series race on dirt in more than four decades.

Kyle Larson came from 13th to lead after the opening 60-lap segment, while Dillon passed Larson to capture the second 50-lap segment. And from there, Dillon led the third and final segment, as he drove to an easy victory over Larson, Ryan Newman, Joey Coulter and Brendan Gaughan.

“It’s amazing,” said Dillon. “I love dirt racing. It’s a lot of fun. … This is real racing right here. That’s all I’ve got to say.”

Ken Schrader won both the pole and his heat race, as the 58-year-old driver became the oldest pole-winner in NASCAR touring series history. Jared Landers, Timothy Peters, Kenny Wallace and Jeb Burton also won their heat races. The last-chance race was captured by Brennan Newberry, with Norm Benning taking the final transfer spot into the main event.