Villopoto wins AMA Supercross season finale week after wrapping up title

Published May. 4, 2014 7:49 a.m. ET

LAS VEGAS -- Ryan Villopoto won the AMA Supercross season finale Saturday night at Sam Boyd Stadium, a week after wrapping up his fourth straight 450SX Class season title.

The Kawasaki rider raced to his fourth straight victory, seventh of the season and 41st overall.

"It is a long season, and it is hard, but I have good people behind me that give it 100 percent," said Villopoto, from Poulsbo, Washington. "Something started to click for me about halfway through the season. I am excited to have another championship."

KTM's Ryan Dungey was second in the 20-lap race and second in the season standings, 64 points behind Villopoto.

Kawasaki's Dean Wilson won the 250SX Western Regional race for his second victory of the season, and KTM's Jason Anderson was sixth to take the season title. Wilson held off Yamaha's Cooper Webb in the 15-lap finale.

Anderson, a four-time winner in the nine-race season, beat Honda's Cole Seely by five points. Seely finished fourth in the race.

"Everyone that lines up on the starting line gives everything they have to this sport, and to come out on top with the championship means a lot to me," Anderson said. "This win is for all of my supporters -- my team and family. It has not been an easy ride to the top, but we got it done."


Yamaha's Jeremy Martin took the Eastern Regional 250SX Class race for his first victory of the season. Honda's Justin Bogle won the season title with a second-place finish. Bogle, a two-time winner this season, finished 39 points ahead of Kawasaki's Martin Davalos.

"I am definitely excited about this championship," Bogle said. "I am going to celebrate this win tonight and get back to work tomorrow."

Kawasaki's Justin Hill won the 10-lap 250SX Dave Coombs Sr. East/West Shootout. Wilson was second, and Anderson third.