Stewart, McGee picked for Indy HOF

Stewart, McGee picked for Indy HOF

Published May. 13, 2011 1:00 a.m. ET

Jackie Stewart and Jim McGee are the 2011 inductees into Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame, the speedway announced Thursday.

Stewart, from Scotland, was the 1966 Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year. The three-time Formula One champion led the 1966 Indy 500 but dropped out while leading with just nine laps remaining. He was running just behind Parnelli Jones and eventual winner A.J. Foyt in 1967 when his engine failed at 168 laps.

McGee, a chief mechanic and race strategist, has contributed to more than 90 major open-wheel victories in the United States, including four Indianapolis 500s.

The will be inducted May 26 at the Indianapolis Marriott Downtown.


A panel of nearly 150 electors, including Hall of Fame members, drivers, journalists and officials, votes annually for Hall of Fame inductees.