IndyCar race at Texas to be restarted in August

IndyCar race at Texas to be restarted in August

Published Jun. 12, 2016 6:06 p.m. ET

The Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway will be restarted on Aug. 27, with just 2 rounds left to go in the 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series.

The race was initially meant to get underway Saturday night.

However, jet dryers were not able to get ride of “weepers” on the track from rain earlier on in the day, and the race was postponed until Sunday.

The Firestone 600 began shortly after 1 p.m. CT on Sunday, with Carlos Munoz leading the field away for the first of 248 laps after taking his first career pole position on Friday.


Munoz dominated the race ahead of the first round of pit stops. However, the race was slowed on Lap 43 due to a scary crash between Conor Daly and Josef Newgarden. Newgarden’s car went upside down and, while he was able to exit his car under his own power, he was transported to the Parkland Memorial Hospital. Both drivers will be able to restart the race, but they would be multiple laps down.

Before the field could go back racing, a large rain shower passed over the track, bringing out the red flag after 72 laps. James Hinchcliffe was the race leader.

The race will be restarted from Lap 72 on Aug. 27. Tickets will be honored and there will be a practice and autograph session earlier on in the day.

Current race order:

1. James Hinchcliffe
2. Ryan Hunter-Reay
3. Mikhail Aleshin
4. Will Power
5. Ed Carpenter
6. Gabby Chaves
7. Helio Castroneves
8. Charlie Kimball
9. Carlos Kimball
10. Juan Pablo Montoya
11. Sebastien Bourdais
12. Graham Rahal
13. Alexander Rossi
14. Scott Dixon
15. Simon Pagenaud
16. Tony Kanaan
17. Takuma Sato
18. Marco Andretti
19. Max Chilton
20. Jack Hawksworth
21. Conor Daly
22. Josef Newgarden