2017 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship schedule released

2017 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship schedule released

Published Nov. 15, 2016 2:01 p.m. ET

IMSA has released the schedule for the 2017 WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season, which again features 12 events at the same circuits, but with some date and format changes.

Events at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca and Circuit of The Americas have swapped, with the COTA round set for May 5-7, as an expected standalone round from the FIA World Endurance Championship.

The Monterey event, meanwhile, moves from its early May date to Sept. 22-24, to serve as the penultimate round of the season.

The GT Daytona class has been added to Long Beach, replacing the Prototype Challenge class, which will feature at only eight rounds next year. The Prototype class will be at 10 events, with GT Le Mans at 11 races, with Lime Rock becoming GT only.


“Aside from a couple of date changes and adjustments to the WeatherTech Championship content at some events, there are no major surprises,” IMSA President Scott Atherton said.

“This schedule represents the stability of our racing platform and a continuation of IMSA featuring the best-of-the-best racetracks and event promoters.”

2017 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship Schedule:

Jan 26-29: Daytona International Speedway*
Mar 15-18: Sebring International Raceway*
Apr 7-8: Long Beach Street Circuit (P, GTLM and GTD only)
May 5-7: Circuit of The Americas
June 2-3: Detroit Belle Isle (P, PC and GTD only)
June 30-July 2: Watkins Glen International*
July 7-9: Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
July 21-22: Lime Rock Park (GTLM and GTD only)
Aug 4-6: Road America
Aug 25-27: Virginia International Raceway (GTLM and GTD only)
Sep 22-24: Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca (P, GTLM and GTD only)
Oct 5-7: Road Atlanta*

*Tequila Patron North American Endurance Cup events