Woods wins US golf writers award for 10th time

Woods wins US golf writers award for 10th time

Published Dec. 17, 2009 6:04 p.m. ET

Tiger Woods has been voted male player of the year by the Golf Writers Association of America by an overwhelming margin over Steve Stricker, with most ballots returned after he became embroiled in a sex scandal.

It was the 10th time Woods has won the award in his 13 years as a pro.

U.S. LPGA Tour rookie Jiyai Shin was voted female player of the year over Lorena Ochoa, while Loren Roberts won the senior player award.

Woods, forced out for eight months in 2008 with major knee surgery, returned to win six times on the U.S. PGA Tour. He captured the FedEx Cup, along with the tour money title and the Vardon Trophy for the lowest scoring average.


He received 168 votes (84 percent), while Stricker had 20 votes and U.S. PGA champion Y.E. Yang received 13 votes.