Ohio State Buckeyes
Taylor Decker ends Big Ten OL award drought for Ohio State
Ohio State Buckeyes

Taylor Decker ends Big Ten OL award drought for Ohio State

Published Dec. 1, 2015 7:52 p.m. ET

Ohio State football picked up another big-time Big Ten award Tuesday night with the announcement Taylor Decker is the 2015 Big Ten Offensive Lineman of the Year. 

A senior from Vandalia, Ohio, Decker is a three-year starter for the Scarlet and Gray and the first Buckeye to win the award since center LeCharles Bentley in 2001. 

The last Ohio State tackle to be so honored was Orlando Pace, who won in 1995 and '96. Pace immediately followed two-time winner Korey Stringer, who was also an Ohio State tackle. 


Decker is the left tackle for a Buckeyes squad that cleared the way for Big Ten rushing champion Ezekiel Elliott and allowed 17 sacks in 12 games, tied for fourth-fewest in the conference. 

Decker also earned All-Big Ten recognition and was joined on the first team by guard Pat Elflein. 

Ohio State center Jacoby Boren and guard Billy Price made the all-conference third team. 

With Decker's honor being announced, Ohio State can claim the top linemen in the league on each side of the ball. 

Joey Bosa was named Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year on Monday night for the second time in his career. 

Michigan was the last school to sweep those awards, doing so in 2006 with Jake Long and LaMarr Woodley. 

Ohio State also swept in 1995 and '96 with Mike Vrabel winning the defensive award both seasons. 


Get more from Ohio State Buckeyes Follow your favorites to get information about games, news and more