Roberts is Salute to Service Award winner

BY AP • January 31, 2018

(STATS) - Atlanta Falcons wide receiver Andre Roberts was named the 2017 recipient of the NFL's Salute to Service Award on Wednesday.

It marked the third time in the last four years a former FCS player has won the award that acknowledges an effort to honor and support members of the military community.

Roberts is a 2010 graduate of The Citadel whose parents served in the U.S. Army. He is widely engaged in military appreciation events with the Falcons. He also hosts football camps at military bases in the NFL offseason.

Roberts is the seventh recipient of the Salute to Service Award. Former Chicago Bears defensive end Jared Allen, who played in the FCS at Idaho State, won the award in 2014, and former Tampa Bay Buccaneers wide receiver Vincent Jackson, a former Northern Colorado standout, won in 2015.

in this topic
National Football Conference National Football Conference
NFC Southern Division NFC Southern Division

share story