LSU cornerback Peterson wins Bednarik Award

Published Dec. 10, 2010 2:11 a.m. ET

LSU cornerback Patrick Peterson is the winner of the Chuck Bednarik Award as the nation's best defensive player.

The junior received the award Thursday night during the College Football Awards Show at Disney World.

Clemson defensive end Da' Quan Bowers and Auburn defensive tackle Nick Fairley were the other finalists.

Peterson also took home the Jim Thorpe Award as the best defensive back in college football.