Jackson State Tigers
Grambling's Williams, Fobbs gain SWAC awards
Jackson State Tigers

Grambling's Williams, Fobbs gain SWAC awards

Published Dec. 2, 2015 4:54 p.m. ET

(STATS) - Grambling State captured two of the Southwestern Athletic Conference's top individual awards Wednesday while it continues to prepare for the conference's ultimate prize Saturday.

SWAC offensive player of the year Johnathan Williams and coach of the year Broderick Fobbs will lead the No. 21 Tigers (9-2) in the SWAC championship game against defending champion Alcorn State (8-3) at NRG Stadium in Houston.

Williams, a graduate student, has passed for 2,910 yards and 36 touchdowns, while Fobbs has the Tigers playing in the title game for the first time since 2011.

Alcorn State shared in the postseason awards with all-purpose player Marquise Warford being named the conference's newcomer of the year.


Alabama State linebacker Kourtney Berry captured the defensive player of the year award and Mississippi Valley State wide receiver/kick returner Booker Chambers was named the freshman of the year.



OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Johnathan Williams, QB, Grambling State

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Kourtney Berry, LB, Alabama State

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR - Marquise Warford, AP, Alcorn State

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR - Booker Chambers, WR/KR, Mississippi Valley State

COACH OF THE YEAR - Broderick Fobbs, Grambling State




QB - Johnathan Williams, Grambling State

RB - Johnta' Hebert, Prairie View A&M

RB - Lenard Tillery, Southern

OL - Isekelli Ongosia, Alcorn State

OL - Detonio Dade, Alcorn State

OL - Justin Miller, Grambling State

OL - Anthony Mosley, Southern

OL - Damian Love, Alabama State

WR - Chad Williams, Grambling State

WR - Daniel Williams, Jackson State

TE - Jordan Payne, Alcorn State



DL - Stacey Garner, Alcorn State

DL - Darien Moody, Alcorn State

DL - Javancy Jones, Jackson State

DL - Gabe Echols, Southern

LB - Kourtney Berry, Alabama State

LB - Damon Watkins, Alcorn State

LB - Willie Duncan, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

DB - Guy Stallworth, Grambling State

DB - Warren Gatewood, Alcorn State

DB - Danny Johnson, Southern

DB - Marquis Green, Mississippi Valley State



PK - Ryan Deising, Jackson State

P - Cory Carter, Texas Southern

RS - Willie Quinn, Southern


Get more from Jackson State Tigers Follow your favorites to get information about games, news and more