10 stats you might not know about the Heisman Trophy

BY foxsports • December 12, 2014

Marcus Mariota is going to win the 2014 Heisman Memorial Trophy.

And there couldn't be a more deserving candidate.

The Oregon quarterback won the Pac-12 North, won the Pac-12 championship, earned a spot in the first College Football Playoff and set numerous records. He is the nation's most efficient passer (186.33) and is the nation's most productive player with 4,452 yards of total offense.

He is a consummate teammate on and off the field, so Saturday night is more a coronation than a highly anticipated announcement. The two numbers to keep an eye on are 2,853 total points and 86 percent of first-place votes.

Those are the two Heisman records set by O.J. Simpson in 1968 and Troy Smith in 2006, respectively. In fact, Simpson's 1,750-point margin is a third benchmark Mariota could challenge this weekend.

But voting stats are only some of interesting numbers surrounding the Heisman.

Here are a few others you may not know.

0: Oregon Heisman Trophy winners

Marcus Mariota isn't just a remarkable player who could lead Oregon to its first national championship with record-setting numbers and astounding maturity. He also will become the school's first Heisman Trophy winner if all goes according to plan. The Ducks have been close with LaMichael James (3rd, 2010), Dennis Dixon (7th, 2007) and Joey Harrington (4th, 2001) but have never won.

26: More INTs Ty Detmer threw than Marcus Mariota

BYU's Ty Detmer posted huge numbers when winning the Heisman in 1990, throwing for 5,188 yards and 41 TDs. In fact, Detmer remains the only Heisman winner with 5,000 yards passing in a season. Strangely enough, he also has the most interceptions by a wide margin of any Heisman winner, throwing 28 interceptions in '90. Jim Plunkett is No. 2 with 19 interceptions in 1979. Marcus Mariota threw two interceptions in 372 attempts this season. Danny Wuerffel's 13 picks are the most by any winner since Detmer.

2003: Last time a WR finished in the top three

Amari Cooper is a Heisman finalist and will be the first wide receiver to finish in the top three since Larry Fitzgerald came in second in 2003 (Jason White). In fact, Cooper and Fitzgerald are the only two wide receivers to finish in the top three since Desmond Howard won the award in 1991. Howard is one of only two wideouts to ever win the award (Tim Brown was the other in 1987). Since Howard won the Trophy only six WRs have even finished in the top five: Marqise Lee (4th) in 2012, Justin Blackmon (5th) in 2010, Michael Crabtree (5th) in 2008 and Randy Moss (4th) in 1997.

14: Winners who played QB in the last 15 years

Since the turn of the century, the Heisman Trophy has become a quarterback's award. After running back Ron Dayne won the coveted stiff-armed award in 1999, only one non-QB has won the trophy. Alabama's Mark Ingram (2009) -- largely considered the "weakest" of Heisman winners -- is the guy.

2: High schools to produce more than one Heisman winner

Woodrow Wilson High School in Dallas, Texas, is the first and only public high school to produce two Heisman winners. Davey O'Brien won the award in 1938 for TCU and Tim Brown claimed the trophy for Notre Dame in '87. Mater Dei High School in Santa Ana, Calif., is the only other high school to have multiple winners. The private school gave college football John Huarte, who won the award in '64 for Notre Dame, and Matt Leinart, who earned the honor in 2004 for USC. Fork Union Military prep academy also has produced multiple Heisman winners -- Vinny Testaverde in 1986 for Miami and Eddie George in '95 for Ohio State --€” but it doesn't technically count since Testaverde only attended the postgrad program.

8: Heisman winners in the NFL Hall of Fame

There are eight former Heisman Trophy winners currently in the NFL Hall of Fame. Marcus Allen (1981), Earl Campbell (1977), Tony Dorsett (1976), Paul Hornung (1956), Barry Sanders (1988), O.J. Simpson (1968), Roger Staubach (1963), and Doak Walker (1948). Interestingly enough, only one Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback has ever made it to the NFL Hall of Fame, and that is Staubach. Additionally, only four Heisman winners have gone on to win Super Bowl MVP honors: Staubach, Allen, Jim Plunkett and Desmond Howard.

2-8: Notre Dame's record when Paul Hornung won the Heisman

The only player to ever win the Heisman off of a losing team was Paul Hornung in 1956. He threw for 917 yards, three touchdowns and 13 interceptions while rushing 94 times for 420 yards and six touchdowns on the ground. The Irish went 2-8 that year, beating only Indiana and North Carolina. Still, Hornung beat out Tennessee's Johnny Majors and Oklahoma's dynamic duo of Tommy McDonald and Jerry Tubbs.

1961: Ernie Davis became the first African-American Heisman winner

It took 27 long years but the voters finally gave the award to an African-American player in 1961 when Syracuse's Ernie Davis topped Ohio State's Bob Ferguson and Texas' Jimmy Saxton for the prestigious award. 

0: Games Jay Berwanger played in the NFL

The first Heisman Trophy winner in history was a senior running back from the University of Chicago by the name of Jay Berwanger. He was the first pick in the first-ever NFL Draft by the Philadelphia Eagles in 1936. Yet, they traded his rights to the Chicago Bears because they didn't think they could meet his salary demands (allegedly $1,000 per game). After Olympic tryouts and unsuccessful contract negotiations with the Bears' George Halas, Berwanger took a job with a Chicago rubber company and never played a down of professional football.

7: Ohio State, USC and Notre Dame winners

The Buckeyes, Trojans and Irish are tied for the most Heismans with seven trophies each. Ohio State's awards have been spread out over time, winning at least one in five different decades while USC's come in bunches. Under Pete Carroll, the Trojans won three Heisman Trophies in four seasons from 2002-05 (Carson Palmer, Matt Leinart, Reggie Bush -- yes, I officially count the '05 trophy even if the Trust does not). The Irish held the Heisman lead for many years, winning six trophies between 1943-64. Tim Brown's 1987 season is the only Irish Heisman since John Huarte won it in '64.

More from Athlon Sports:

share story