CIT expands field to 32 teams

BY foxsports • March 12, 2012

One-time NCAA tournament darlings Loyola Marymount, Kent State and Indiana State are among the teams in this year's Postseason Tournament.

The pairings were announced Sunday night and the 32-team field, expanded from 24 last season and 16 the year before, also includes Rice, Utah State, Robert Morris, Old Dominion, Yale and Weber State.

The fourth annual CIT begins Tuesday. The single-elimination tournament uses an old NIT model in which matchups in future rounds are determined by the results of the previous round. Games are played at campus sites.

Santa Clara beat Iona in last year's championship game.