Formula E: D’Ambrosio awarded Berlin ePrix win as Di Grassi disqualified

Jerome D'Ambrosio made the race-winning move when he passed Sebastien Buemi (not pictured) for second position during pit stops in the Berlin ePrix.

Markus Schreiber/AP

Jerome d’Ambrosio has been awarded his first FIA Formula E win after race winner Lucas di Grassi’s front wing endplates were found to have been illegally modified.

The Audi Sport ABT team will not appeal the decision. This turn of events brings with it major points implications as Lucas di Grassi came into the Berlin ePrix with a tight points lead ahead of Sebastien Buemi, who finished third and so is credited with second, and Nelson Piquet Jr., who finished fifth and so is credited with fourth.

The decision puts Dragon teammates Jerome d’Ambrosio and Loic Duval first and third positions respectively with e.dams-Renault driver Sebastien Buemi on the second step of the podium.