Yadi grabs his ninth Gold Glove award

November 4, 2018

Yadier Molina is no stranger to the Gold Glove award.

The Cardinals catcher took home his ninth Gold Glove on Sunday, but his first since 2015.

Rockies second baseman D.J. LeMahieu beat out the Cardinals' Kolten Wong and Cubs' Javy Baez for the award.

Additionally, Mookie Betts, Jackie Bradley Jr. and Ian Kinsler won Gold Gloves for the World Series champion Red Sox on Sunday night, and the Atlanta Braves also were recognized for their fielding excellence this season.

The 26-year-old Betts won for the third straight year. He also is a top contender for the AL MVP award.

Kinsler got his second Gold Glove at second base, and Bradley won for the first time in center. Teammate Andrew Benintendi also was nominated, but Kansas City Royals left fielder Alex Gordon took home his sixth Gold Glove instead.

Atlanta added three Gold Gloves to its surprise NL East title this season. Freddie Freeman and Cubs slugger Anthony Rizzo tied for the award at first base, and center fielder Ender Inciarte and right fielder Nick Markakis also were honored for the Braves.

It's the third straight Gold Glove for Inciarte. Markakis won for the first time in the NL and third time overall, ending Jason Heyward's run of four in a row.

Oakland, Colorado and Arizona each had two Gold Glove winners in the infield.

First baseman Matt Olson and third baseman Matt Chapman were recognized for the Athletics. Third baseman Nolan Arenado also won for the Rockies. Diamondbacks pitcher Zack Greinke got his fifth consecutive Gold Glove award, and teammate Nick Ahmed won for the first time at shortstop.

It was a similar situation at catcher in the AL, with Salvador Perez winning for Kansas City for the fifth time after he was unseated by Martin Maldonado last year.

Pittsburgh left fielder Corey Dickerson rounds out the NL winners. Houston pitcher Dallas Keuchel and Los Angeles Angels shortstop Andrelton Simmons also won in the AL.


American League
P — Dallas Keuchel, Houston, Arizona, 4

C — Salvador Perez, Kansas City, 5

1B — Matt Olson, Oakland, 1

2B — Ian Kinsler, Los Angeles/Boston, 2

3B — Matt Chapman, Oakland, 1

SS — Andrelton Simmons, Los Angeles, 4

LF — Alex Gordon, Kansas City, 6

CF — Jackie Bradley Jr., Boston, 1

RF — Mookie Betts, Boston, 3

National League
P — Zack Greinke, Arizona, 5

C — Yadier Molina, St. Louis, 9

1B — Anthony Rizzo, Chicago, 2; Freddie Freeman, Altanta, 1

2B — DJ LeMahieu, Colorado, 3

3B — Nolan Arenado, Colorado, 6

SS — Nick Ahmed, Arizona, 1

LF — Corey Dickerson, Pittsburgh, 1

CF — Ender Inciarte, Atlanta, 3

RF — Nick Markakis, Atlanta, 3