Parkes out hurt as Wales make 5 changes for 2nd Pumas test

June 14, 2018

SANTA FE, Argentina (AP) Wales center Hadleigh Parkes was ruled out of the second rugby test against Argentina this weekend because of a broken finger and replaced by Owen Watkin on Thursday.

Parkes was injured when Wales won the first test 23-10 in San Juan last weekend.

Replacing him was the only enforced change, as coach Warren Gatland made five changes to improve his stock of test players.

Hooker Ryan Elias, tighthead prop Tomas Francis, flanker Ellis Jenkins, and scrumhalf Aled Davies were all given starts. Francis was the only one of the five, including Watkin, with more than 10 caps.

''Looking at the objectives of this tour, we are right on track. We have won two games from two but more importantly we have exposed players to test match rugby,'' Gatland said.

''We might have picked a slightly different team if it was just about results but it is about more than that, it is about building for 2019.''

After beating the Pumas in Argentina for the first time in 14 years, Wales has a shot in Sante Fe at winning a series in Argentina for the first time in 19 years.

Argentina made only one change to its starting lineup for the match, naming scrumhalf Martin Landajo to play his 80th test in place of Gonzalo Bertranou, who drops to the bench.


Wales: Hallam Amos, Josh Adams, Scott Williams, Owen Watkin, George North, Rhys Patchell, Aled Davies; Ross Moriarty, James Davies, Ellis Jenkins, Cory Hill (captain), Adam Beard, Tomas Francis, Ryan Elias, Rob Evans. Reserves: Elliot Dee, Nicky Smith, Dillon Lewis, Bradley Davies, Josh Turnbull, Tomos Williams, Gareth Anscombe, Tom Prydie.

Argentina: Emiliano Boffelli, Bautista Delguy, Matias Orlando, Jeronimo de la Fuente, Ramiro Moyano, Nicolas Sanchez, Martin Landajo; Javier Ortega Desio, Marcos Kremer, Pablo Matera, Tomas Lavanini, Guido Petti, Nahuel Tetatz Chaparro, Agustin Creevy (captain), Santiago Garcia Botta. Reserves: Julian Montoya, Javier Diaz, Santiago Medrano, Matias Alemanno, Tomas Lezana, Gonzalo Bertranou, Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, Sebastian Cancelierre.

in this topic

share story