NASCAR Cup Series
Hendrick Motorsports announces changes to Dale Jr.'s pit crew
NASCAR Cup Series

Hendrick Motorsports announces changes to Dale Jr.'s pit crew

Published Feb. 5, 2015 10:37 a.m. ET

The addition of crew chief Greg Ives and primary sponsor Nationwide aren't the only changes to Dale Earnhardt Jr.'s No. 88 team for the upcoming Sprint Cup season.

A Hendrick Motorsports spokeswoman confirmed to on Thursday the identities of three new members of Earnhardt Jr.'s six-man over-the-wall crew for 2015.

The newcomers to Earnhardt Jr.'s No. 88 Chevy crew are front tire changer David Mayo, front tire carrier Dustin Lineback and rear tire carrier William "Rowdy" Harrell.

Mayo has been a backup tire changer and fill-in for Earnhardt Jr. and teammate Jimmie Johnson's No. 48 team the past two years.


Lineback has worked as a backup tire carrier and fueler for Earnhardt Jr. and Johnson in recent years. He fueled the No. 51 Sprint Cup car of Justin Allgaier last year.

Harrell joined the 48/88 teams as a backup at the end of last season, and quickly rose through the ranks of the Hendrick developmental program.

Jackman Nick Covey, rear tire changer Joe Slingerland and fueler Matt Tyrrell return to their respective positions from last season on the No. 88 crew.

The three new crew members replace three members of Earnhardt Jr.'s 2014 squad who joined the team of Joe Gibbs Racing newcomer Carl Edwards.

It was revealed in December that Earnhardt Jr.'s 2014 car chief, Jason Burdett, has moved to the organization that Earnhardt Jr. co-owns -- JR Motorsports -- where he will be the Xfinity Series crew chief this season for Regan Smith.


Get more from NASCAR Cup Series Follow your favorites to get information about games, news and more

in this topic