Frenchmen Peterhansel, Despres win Dakar

BY foxsports • January 16, 2012

Frenchmen Stephane Peterhansel and Cyril Despres won the Dakar Rally on Sunday, completing the final stage two weeks after the race began in Argentina.

Peterhansel won Dakar for a record-10th time and Despres added his fourth title. American Robby Gordon finished fifth after winning stages and challenging the leaders for much of the race.

The final special stage was only 18 miles and both leaders took it easy on the last day. Peterhansel in the cars category and Despres in the motorbikes nearly wrapped up the title on Saturday, needing to avoid a major catastrophe to climb the podium.

in this topic

share story