Scott Sharp's ESM team wins Rolex as Corvettes thrill crowd

BY foxsports • January 31, 2016

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (AP) Scott Sharp celebrated a second win at the Rolex 24 at Daytona 20 years after his first victory.

His Tequila Patron Extreme Speed Motorsports gave Honda its first win at Daytona with a convincing 26-second margin of victory over Wayne Taylor Racing. Only two cars finished on the lead lap, with the tightest battle far behind the leaders in the GT Le Mans class between the pair of Corvette Racing entries.

Corvette gave drivers Oliver Gavin and Antonio Garcia the go-ahead to race each other hard over the final 30 minutes of the twice-around-the-clock endurance race. The two yellow Corvettes battled several times side-by-side before Gavin nipped Garcia at the finish by .034 seconds.

The ESM winning team was Sharp, Ed Brown, Johannes van Overbeek and newcomer Luis Felipe Derani, a Brazilian racing in his first career sports car race.