Westwood, Clarke lead Britain & Ireland in Vivendi

Westwood, Clarke lead Britain & Ireland in Vivendi

Published Sep. 6, 2011 3:54 p.m. ET

Britain & Ireland will be without four of the world's top-20 players when the team launches the defense of its Vivendi Seve Trophy title against Continental Europe in Paris next week.

Captain Paul McGinley included No. 2-ranked Lee Westwood and British Open champion Darren Clarke in the reigning champions' lineup on Tuesday, but top-ranked Luke Donald as well as U.S Open champion Rory McIlroy, Graeme McDowell and Paul Casey turned down opportunities to play in the biennial match.

Englishmen Ian Poulter and Ross Fisher, who were part of Europe's 2010 Ryder Cup-winning team, were also named in Britain & Ireland's team.

Jean van der Velde's Continental Europe side included Denmark's Thomas Bjorn, a back-to-back winner on the European Tour over the last fortnight, and Italy's Matteo Manassero, who at 18 years and 152 days becomes the youngest player in the tournament's history.


The four-day Ryder Cup-style tournament is held from Sept. 15-18.



Continental Europe: Francesco Molinari, Anders Hansen, Thomas Bjorn, Matteo Manassero, Alvaro Quiros, Alex Noren, Pablo Larrazabal, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Nicolas Colsaerts, Peter Hanson.

Britain and Ireland: Lee Westwood, Ian Poulter, Darren Clarke, Simon Dyson, Ross Fisher, Mark Foster, Robert Rock, Jamie Donaldson, David Horsey, Scott Jamieson.