Michigan lands three players on FWAA 75th anniversary team

BY foxsports • August 20, 2015

Charles Woodson, Anthony Carter and Dave Brown are the three Michigan Wolverines to make the Football Writers Association of America's 75th Anniversary All-America team. 

Woodson and Brown were both standout defensive backs while Carter was an electrifying receiver. 

Woodson, the 1997 Heisman Trophy winner, also starred on special teams and contributed on offense for the last Michigan team to win the national championship in 1997 before going on to a long and illustrious career in the NFL. He is still second in career interceptions at Michigan with 18. 

Woodson was Big Ten Freshman of the Year in 1995 and an All-American in 1996 and '97. His junior season he won the Chicago Tribune Silver Football, the Bednarik Award, Thorpe Award, Walter Camp Award and Nagurski Award. 

Brown was an All-American in 1973 and 74. He is tied for second in school history with four return touchdowns and tied for 15th in career pass breakups with 18. 

Carter led Michigan in receptions and yards in 1980, '81 and '82 and was named All-Big Ten and All-America all three seasons. He is No. 2 in Michigan history with 3,074 career receiving yards and 37 touchdown receptions. He is fifth all-time in catches with 161 and his 14 100-yard receiving games trails only Braylon Edwards. 

share story