NJIT to join Atlantic Sun

NJIT to join Atlantic Sun

Published Jun. 11, 2015 8:48 p.m. ET

NEWARK, N.J. (AP) The New Jersey Institute of Technology will host a news conference on Friday to announce the Highlanders, Division I's only independent program, will joining the Atlantic Sun Conference.

NJIT has been the only NCAA Division I independent athletic program since 2013-14 when the Great West Conference disbanded.

The Highlanders pulled off one of college basketball's biggest upsets last season when they beat then-No. 17 Michigan 72-70 on Dec. 6.

The Atlantic Sun, based in Macon, Georgia, currently has eight members: North Florida, Florida Gulf Coast, South Carolina-Upstate, Lipscomb, Northern Kentucky, Jacksonville, Kennesaw State and Stetson.


North Florida won the conference tournament last season to reach the NCAA Tournament for the first time. The Ospreys lost to Robert Morris in the First Four.