Mississippi 66, LSU 60

BY foxsports • February 10, 2011

Chris Warren tied a season-high with 26 points and Zach Graham broke a tie with 2:02 remaining as Mississippi defeated LSU 66-60 on Wednesday night.

Warren, who has 1,821 career points, moved into fourth place on Ole Miss' all-time scoring list, passing Elston Turner, who had 1,805 points from 1978-81. Warren is one point from tying Carlos Clark's third-place point total from 1980-1983.

Warren's other 26-point outing this season came in a season-opening victory over Arkansas State.

Graham finished with 17 points, including the jumper to provide the final lead change.

Ole Miss (16-8, 4-5 Southeastern Conference) won its third straight conference game and fourth out of five after starting 0-4.

LSU (10-14, 2-7) had an eight-point, second-half lead, but Graham's jumper tied it at 51 with 6:29 left, and the Rebels ended the game on a 9-3 run.

Down 57-55, Warren scored seven of Ole Miss' final 11 points. The senior tied it with a layup, hit a 3-pointer for a 60-57 lead and pushed the advantage to two possessions with two free throws with 25 seconds remaining.

Freshman Matt Derenbecker scored a career-high 19 points, Ralston Turner scored 16 and Storm Warren added 10 for LSU. Derenbecker's previous high was 17 points.

Derenbecker hit three 3-pointers in a 150-second span in the second half to give LSU its largest lead at the 11:29 mark.

Turner was inactive for the teams' first meeting this season, a 27-point Ole Miss victory.

Reginald Buckner led Ole Miss with seven rebounds and the Rebels outrebounded the Tigers 39-30.

Malcolm White, in his first visit to Tad Smith Coliseum since transferring to LSU prior to the 2009 season, scored the Tigers' first four points and finished with eight and a team-high 11 rebounds.

share story