UConn's Maya Moore is AP player of the year

UConn's Maya Moore is AP player of the year

Published Apr. 2, 2011 4:38 p.m. ET

Maya Moore is The Associated Press player of the year for the second time in three seasons after leading Connecticut to another spectacular year.

The senior averaged 22.5 points and guided the Huskies to the Big East regular season and tournament championships. She has them back in the Final Four for the fourth straight year and is trying to lead them to a third straight national title.

The four-time All-American is the third player to win the award twice, joining Seimone Augustus of LSU and Chamique Holdsclaw of Tennessee. Moore won as a sophomore and finished second in the voting her freshman and junior years.

Moore received the award Saturday. She got 37 of the votes from the 39-member national media panel that selects the weekly Top 25. Baylor's Brittney Griner received the other two votes.