UFC 170: Rousey vs. McMann Fight Blog

BY Damon Martin • February 19, 2014

There will be a number of firsts achieved at UFC 170 on Saturday night most notably at the top of the card where Olympic bronze medalist and UFC women's bantamweight champion Ronda Rousey will square off against Olympic silver medalist Sara McMann in the main event.  While plenty of Olympians have fought inside the Octagon, this will be the first two of them have competed for a UFC title not to mention both fighters are undefeated in their respective MMA careers.

The co-main event adds onto the undefeated theme of the card as another two-time Olympian Daniel Cormier puts his perfect record on the line against newcomer Patrick Cummins, who also walks into the UFC for the first time with an unblemished record.

There is also pivotal matchup in the welterweight division as Canadian Rory MacDonald looks to erase the memories of his last fight against Robbie Lawler when he takes on one of the best grapplers to ever compete in the UFC as Demian Maia also looks to bounce back from a recent loss.  The featured bout in the FOX Sports 1 prelims will also go a long way towards potentially crowning the next contender in the women's 135 pound division with Alexis Davis squaring off against Jessica Eye.

All the action gets under way with the UFC 170 prelims on the UFC's digital network Fight Pass at 7pm ET/4pm PT before shifting to FOX Sports 1 at 8pm ET/5pm PT and then finally the pay-per-view at 10pm ET/7pm PT and we will have you covered throughout the entire event on FOX Sports. 

FIGHT CARD:

Ronda Rousey vs. Sarah McMann (for UFC women's bantamweight championship)

Daniel Cormier vs. Patrick Cummins

Rory MacDonald vs. Demian Maia

Mike Pyle vs. TJ Waldburger

Stephen 'Wonderboy' Thompson vs. Robert Whittaker

FOX SPORTS 1 Prelims:

Alexis Davis vs. Jessica Eye

Raphael Assuncao vs. Pedro Munhoz

Cody Gibson vs. Aljamain Sterling

Zach Makovsky vs. Josh Sampo

FIGHT PASS PRELIMS

Erik Koch vs. Rafaello Oliveira

Ernest Chaves vs. Yosdenis Cedeno



share story