Ciprian Marica double leads Romania past Bosnia

BY foxsports • June 3, 2011

Striker Ciprian Marica scored twice as Romania beat Bosnia 3-0 in a qualifier for the 2012 European Championship on Friday.

Razvan Rat set up Adrian Mutu for the opener in the 36th before providing the pass for Marica to score his first in the 40th. Marica doubled his tally in the 55th with a shot over Bosnian goalkeeper Kenan Hasagic.

Ciprian Sapunaru had a chance to make it 4-0 in added time at the end, but missed a penalty.

Romania had a goal disallowed in the 9th when Gabriel Muresan headed in from a throw-in - only for the officials to spot that Sapunaru didn't have both feet on the ground when he took the throw.

Bosnia also had a goal chalked off in the 19th, after Zvjezdan Misimovic was flagged offside.

Romania moved up to third in Group D with eight points, one behind Belarus and five adrift of leader France. Bosnia is in fifth place with seven points.

The match was seen as Romania's last chance to rekindle its hopes of qualifying for the European Championship.

Romania coach Razvan Lucescu, who has been widely criticized for his team's performances, praised the support received from fans.

''It counts that we've won,'' he said.

Mutu captained the Romania side following the international retirement of 30-year-old Inter Milan defender Cristian Chivu.

The match was twice delayed by crowd incidents. Kickoff started several minutes late after a banner reading ''Free Mladic'' was removed from a fence.

However, the banner was again held up by Romania fans shortly after the start of the second half, angering some Bosnia supporters who threw seats.

The trial of former Bosnian Serb wartime commander Ratko Mladic on genocide charges began Friday at The Hague war crimes tribunal.



Romania: Ciprian Tatarusanu, Cristian Sapunaru, Paul Papp, Gabriel Tamas, Razvan Rat, Gabriel Muresan, Gabriel Torje, Alexandru Bourceanu, Lucian Sanmartean (Cristian Tanase, 63), Adrian Mutu (Romeo Surdu, 83), Ciprian Marica (Marius Alexe, 87).

Bosnia-Herzegovina: Kenan Hasagic, Emir Spahic, Adnan Mravac, Elvir Rahimic, Miralem Pjanic, Zvjezdan Misimovic, Senad Lulic, Mensur Mujdza, Haris Medunjanin (Vedad Ibisevic, 46), Senijad Ibricic (Semir Stilic, 64), Edin Dzeko (Zlatan Muslimovic, 64).


share story