Taurasi ties Leslie's record with 8th All-WNBA honor

BY foxsports • September 25, 2013

NEW YORK -- Phoenix Mercury guard Diana Taurasi has tied Lisa Leslie with a record eighth appearance on the All-WNBA team.

Taurasi was also on the team in 2004 and from 2006-2011. She averaged 20.3 points and 6.2 assists to get Phoenix back to the Western Conference finals, where it will face Minnesota and fellow first-team members Maya Moore and Lindsay Whalen.

Chicago center Sylvia Fowles was the leading vote-getter (167), followed by Taurasi (162), Moore (161), Whalen (143) and Most Valuable Player Candace Parker (119) of Los Angeles. Parker is the only member of the group who was on the first team last season.

Rookie of the Year Elena Delle Donne of Chicago made the second team, along with Indiana's Tamika Catchings, Connecticut's Tina Charles, Atlanta's Angel McCoughtry and Minnesota's Seimone Augustus.

Voting was done by a national panel of media and broadcasters.

Fowles, a two-time WNBA Defensive Player of the Year winner (2013, 2010), led the WNBA in rebounding (11.5 rpg), finished second in blocks (2.44 bpg) and scored 16.3 points per game. She and Charles are the only two players to average a double-double.

Parker was fourth in the league in blocks (1.84 bpg), sixth in scoring (17.9 ppg) and seventh in rebounding (8.7 rpg).

Moore led the league in 3-point shooting percentage (45.3) and ranked third in scoring (18.5) and sixth in steals (1.74). Whalen was third in the league in assists (5.8 apg) while averaging a career-best 14.9 points per game. She and Moore were second-team selections last year.

share story