Sun Devils set for NCAA track championship

Sun Devils set for NCAA track championship

Published Jun. 4, 2012 7:13 p.m. ET

Arizona State will send 12 individuals and three relay teams to this week's NCAA Track and Field Championships in Des Moines, Iowa. Competition starts Wednesday and concludes on Saturday.

For the 17th-ranked men's team, Jordan Clarke is the returning NCAA shot put champion; he will also compete in the hammer. Chris Benard enters the meet as the nation's top-ranked triple jumper and will also compete in the long jump.

The 16th-ranked women are led by two returning All-Americans: Anna Jelmini (discus) and Christabel Nettey (long jump); Jelmini also will compete in the discus, and Keia Pinnick will compete individually in the heptathlon while also running in the 4x100 and 4x400 relays.

The top-ranked men's teams are Texas A&M, LSU, Arizona Texas and Florida State. Among the Pac-12, USC is ranked No. 9, Oregon is 15th and Stanford 16th.

The top-ranked women's teams are LSU, Kansas, Oregon, Texas A&M and Clemson. Stanford is ranked seventh, Arizona 10th and USC 14th.

The meet will be streamed live via on Wednesday and starting Thurday. Live results will be available at