Scotland makes 3 changes for Six Nations finale

Scotland makes 3 changes for Six Nations finale

Updated Mar. 5, 2020 1:27 a.m. ET

EDINBURGH, Scotland (AP) Scotland coach Vern Cotter makes three changes to the team to face Ireland in its Six Nations finale in Dublin on Saturday.

Stand-off Duncan Weir has been handed his first start of the championship in place of Finn Russell, who has been ruled out with a concussion.

Weir last started for Scotland against South Africa in the Rugby World Cup in October. He will partner scrum-half Greig Laidlaw, who will set a record of 26 appearances as Scotland captain.

Lock Tim Swinson - who has made four replacement appearances - is set for his first start alongside Richie Gray, in place of the injured Jonny Gray, who has a pectoral tear.


Ryan Wilson starts at number 8 in place of Josh Strauss, who moves to the bench.


Scotland: Stuart Hogg, Tommy Seymour, Duncan Taylor, Alex Dunbar, Tim Visser, Duncan Weir, Greig Laidlaw (captain), Alasdair Dickinson, Ross Ford, Willem Nel, Richie Gray, Tim Swinson, John Barclay, John Hardie, Ryan Wilson. Reserves: Stuart McInally, Rory Sutherland, Moray Low, Rob Harley, Josh Strauss, Henry Pyrgos, Pete Horne, Sean Lamont.