Doan receives Messier Leadership Award

Doan receives Messier Leadership Award

Published Jun. 20, 2012 6:41 p.m. ET

Coyotes captain Shane Doan is the 2011-12 recipient of the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award, which recognizes players for the leadership on the ice and in the community.

“I am thrilled to receive the Mark Messier Leadership Award,” Doan said upon receiving the award at the NHL Awards ceremony on Wednesday in Las Vegas. “Growing up in Alberta, I was a huge fan of Mark Messier and to receive this award from one of the greatest leaders to ever play in the NHL is a tremendous honor.”

Doan was drafted by the Winnipeg Jets in 1995 and has played all 16 of his NHL seasons with the franchise. He has served as the Coyotes’ captain since 2003 and in 2011-12 helped the team to its first division title and first appearance in the Western Conference Final.

“It is hard to imagine a more worthy recipient of the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award than Shane Doan,” said Coyotes General Manager Don Maloney. “The leadership and inspiration he displays daily in our locker room is only exceeded by his selfless giving in our community. It’s a well-deserved honor.”

Doan has long been considered one of the most selfless professional athletes in a city that is home to four major professional sports teams.  He serves as an ambassador for Coyotes Charities and works with a number of organizations including: United Blood Services, Phoenix Children’s Hospital, Phoenix Rescue Mission, Flashes of Hope and Children First Academy - a kindergarten through eighth grade school for homeless children.

Messier solicits suggestions from club and league personnel and NHL fans through in compiling a list of potential candidates. The selection of the three finalists and the ultimate winner is Messier’s choice alone. The other two finalists for the award were Los Angeles Kings forward Dustin Brown and New York Rangers forward Ryan Callahan.

Winners of the Mark Messier Leadership Award

2011-12 – Shane Doan, Phoenix Coyotes
2010-11 – Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins
2009-10 – Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
2008-09 – Jarome Iginla, Calgary Flames
2007-08 – Mats Sundin, Toronto Maple Leafs
2006-07 – Chris Chelios, Detroit Red Wings