Andy Lopez heads class for Arizona Sports Hall of Fame

Published Jul. 2, 2015 6:59 p.m. ET

TUCSON, Ariz. -- Retiring baseball coach Andy Lopez, two baseball players, two golfers and four NCAA Championship swimming relay teams have been selected for induction into the University of Arizona Sports Hall of Fame.

The Hall's 39th class will be recognized during an on-field presentation at halftime of the Sept. 3 football game against Texas-San Antonio and be inducted at a ceremony and dinner on Sept. 4 at the Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa.

In addition to Lopez, who coached the Wildcats to the 2012 national championship and ended his 15-year tenure in May, the inductees are baseball players David Baldwin (1957-59) and Trevor Crowe (2002-05) and women's golfers Susan Slaughter (1988-90) and the late Erica Blasberg (2002-04).

Three of the four relay teams (800 freestyle, 400 freestyle, 400 medley) were from the 2008 men's team, and the fourth was from the 2007 men's team (800 freestyle).

Darian Townsend was a member of all four relay teams, Joel Greenshields and Nicolas Nilo were on three, Jean Basson and Albert Subirats on two, and Adam Ritter and Ivan Barnes on one.

The induction ceremony and dinner is open to the public. Individual tickets are $50 and may be purchased by calling (520) 621-2331.