5 newcomers in Australia squad for Dubai Sevens

5 newcomers in Australia squad for Dubai Sevens

Updated Mar. 4, 2020 9:03 p.m. ET

SYDNEY (AP) Australia has named five players for debuts in the first round of the Rugby Sevens World Series in Dubai next month.

Sam Caslick, brother of Australian Olympic women's sevens gold medalist Charlotte Caslick, has been selected for the first time as a utility back for the tournament which runs from December 1 to 3.

Michael Adams, Simon Kennewell, Charlie Taylor and Tim Anstee have also been chosen for the first time in coach Andy Friend's 13-man squad.

Sam Meyers has been named captain in the absence of Lewis Holland who is injured.



Australia squad: Sam Myers (captain), Ed Jenkins, Michael Adams, Connor Mitchell, Boyd Killingworth, Alex Gibbon, Simon Kennewell, Patrick McCutcheon, Samuel Caslick, Henry Hutchison, James Stannard, Charlie Taylor, Tim Anstee.