Fan vote opens for NHRA Traxxas Nitro Shootouts

BY foxsports • August 22, 2016

At next month’s U.S. Nationals at Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis, there will be a race “within” a race with $100,000 being awarded to both the Top Fuel and Funny Car winners of the NHRA Traxxas Nitro Shootouts.

Teams are able to qualify for the Shootouts by either winning an event in 2016 or holding the top spot in the points after Brainerd.

However, both the Top Fuel and Funny Car classes have seen more than seven winners this season, and so J.R. Todd (Top Fuel) and John Force and Del Worsham (Funny Car) are not locked in as they were the eighth (for Worsham, ninth) drivers to log a win this season in their respective classes.

However, they can still get in via the fan vote, which opened following the race in Brianerd. Click HERE to vote on NHRA’s Facebook page.

The seven drivers locked in so far for each class are:

Top Fuel:

With fans able to vote for Richie Crampton, Terry McMillen, Clay Millican and J.R. Todd in the fan vote.

Funny Car:

With fans able to vote for Jack Beckman, John Force, John Hale, Chad Head, Cruz Pedregon or Del Worsham.

Voting ends on Aug. 30 at 9 a.m. ET. The Top Fuel Shootout will take place on Sept. 3, while the Funny Car Shootout will take place on Sept. 4. Antron Brown (Top Fuel) and Jack Beckman (Funny Car) are the defending winners.